Funnel Cake What?!?! Give Me A Beignet

Whenever the Mr. says we are taking a trip to New Orleans I get overly excited. Not because of the daiquiri shops or the seafood but because of the flakey pieces of heaven known as beignets.

Since I don’t plan on winning the lotto anytime soon in order to have a second home in New Orleans  at least a trip a year will do so I can have this treat. If you have never savored the taste of a beignet from Cafe de Monde I am sorry. The melt in your mouth goodness of the dough and the mounds of powdered sugar is so tasty.

As you can see an order of 3 is $2.42 the price for this treat is well worth it. On this particular getaway we stopped twice. The first time I inhaled 2 orders the second time just one and I enjoyed a hot chocolate with it. I don’t know where this hot chocolate comes from because it really is out of this world. Better than any hot chocolate I have ever tried.

Do you guys see that beignet under the mounds of powdered sugar? Folks they are very generous and I love it! Then when you take that first bite yummmmmm…….

The also have beignet mix your can purchase. I am not interested because I know they would not turn out as fantastic at home.

I did decide to pick up one comical item for my morning coffee or tea. And it asks the perfect question!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Whileimhereblogpost
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 11:42:44

    Yumm I have never had one or been to New Orleans I so need to go!

    Reply

  2. onlycourtneysays
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 11:58:54

    Yesss!!! I love them! I bought the mix…and never opened the box because I didn’t want to disappoint myself. Now I need to figure out how I’m going to get my hands on about 6 orders of beignets. Hmmm…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

