Huh, Shampoo Bar? Why Yes They Are Kinda Awesome!

Forgive me but I am old school. When I think of shampoo I think of the liquid that comes out of a bottle, not something that can be found in a solid form. For the sake of my natural hair product junkisim I will give anything, well almost anything a try at least once. I was super stoked to find a shampoo bar sample in my January Curlkit. Actually I think it was more of a deluxe size sample I will surely get multiple uses out of it. So check out the dets below:

Product: Coco and Cream Raspberry Rice Pudding Shampoo Bar

Ingredients: saponified oils of coconut, soybean, avocado, olive & castor, shea butter, organic raspberries, coconut milk, rice flour, organic apple cider vinegar, fragrance

Price: $5.00 per bar

Product Description:* taken directly from the Cream and Coco Website:  Raspberries are a potent antioxidants and help fight damage from the elements. Coconut milk & coconut oil are a fabulous for dandruff, help strengthen the hair and reduce protein loss during washing. Rice flour is very beneficial for thinning hair because it contains so many nutrients your hair thrives on; vitamins E, B1, B3, B6, folacin & potassium, as well as key minerals to promote growth. Organic apple cider vinegar balances the pH on your scalp, aid’s in removing excess product buildup and seal’s the hair cuticle. Closed hair cuticles give better curl definition! Organic raw shea butter intensely moisturizes the hair & scalp, leaving your hair shiny, healthy & moisturized.

My Verdict: I loved this shampoo bar! I cut off a sliver and used on my entire head so I could preserve the rest of the bar for later uses. I applied the cut piece directly to my head and I also got the lather working in my hands then applied it to my scalp. I would say getting a usage technique down was the most difficult part. This bar did lather so that was nice and it was in no way stripping! My hair felt moisturized and my curls were so popping. If I had known a shampoo bar would perform this way I would have given it a try earlier in my hair journey.

Will I Repurchase: Yes for sure! I have already been checking out the site to see what other damage I could do.

So have you tried shampoo bars before? What technique do you use?

This sample covered my entire palm!

This sample covered my entire palm!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Must Have Boxes
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 20:37:03

    Sounds amazing. I’d love to try this product.

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

