Straight Hair Files

imageMy 2 year natural hair anniversary came and went with not much fan fare at all. I am just feeling kinda blah about it all. Mainly because it totally feels like my hair is not growing at the speed I would like but that is for another post. I had been going back and forth for a few months about straightening this year and was only allowing myself to do so if I found a good flat-iron and at a  decent price. I lucked up on a great deal that Folica.com was having on a Sedu so all I had to do was wait, very impatiently wait for my goodies to arrive.  I straightened my hair last year but this time around I was overly stressing about potential heat damage. It’s funny how when I was relaxed heat damage was of zero concern to me. So my plan was to not fry my hair. My process is outlined below pre blow out:

1. Washed and conditioned with the Eversleek Sulfate Free Line

2. Conditioned with a Palmers Protein Pack and left that in for about 1 hour with no heat

3. Deep conditioned with Curl Junkie’s Curl Rehab

4. Rinsed with Yes to Tomatoes conditioner

5. Applied Karen’s Body Beautiful Hair Nectar As My Leave In

For the blow out and flat-iron process I used 3 products! Yes I know 3. I received the Sedu Moisturizing Boost and Sedu Smoothing Boost with my order so I used those products and a bit of Grapeseed oil as well. I did tension blow dry my hair in sections and once dry I proceeded to flat-iron. The whole process post washing took around 2 hours. Not bad and the flat-iron made the job quite easy. For me the results were ok. I prefer my hair curly! I definitely need a trim from a professional because I saw major split ends and my strands had zero body. The next straight files will be done by a professional for sure.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlidholbrook
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 21:11:12

    gorgeous!! kudos fellow natural!
    xoC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

