TypeF is for Foolery! Really Tyra Banks?

Tyra Banks has  launched a website called TypeF that is set to feature fashion and beauty, with that a host of YouTube videos have been posted in correlation with the website. When I think of Tyra Banks I think of fashion forward, trendy and legitimate. Well that is not the case, at least with the Natural Hair videos.  At first view my jaw dropped to the floor in amazement especially as I saw a natural hair woman comb her hair with a paddle brush. That amazement turned to laughing hysterically as I continued to view this library of crap. From the twisties video, which us natural’s equate to two strand twists to rolling natural hair it just got worse. Amazement, to laughing hysterically, to down right pissed is how quickly my mood changed. Thinking clearly this has to be a joke!!!! Unfortunately I don’t think it is. I do not understand how Tyra Banks could endorse this madness.

Folks it is not just the natural hair videos. The curly hair videos and makeup tips are horrendous as well. What makes this even more of an offense is that someone that is newly natural or thinking about becoming natural may stumble upon this garbage and really take it at face value since of course it is a “licensed” hair stylist. If any of these tips are followed some serious damage is going to be done.  There are no videos at all that display proper techniques, how to achieve healthy hair, and by golly leave in conditioner is NOT the only thing us naturals use. Again this goes back to research and the many other plausible people on YT that can be a big help in the natural hair community. There is a plethora of positive and helpful information out!

If you feel inclined please head over to the YouTube channel and comment about your disgust and why these videos should be removed, or recreated with correct information.

Cassidy over at Natural Selection has a great open letter that she has written to TypeF. Just click on the link to take a peek.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PBG
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 09:25:28

    I wrote about this #TypeWTF foolery on my blog as well. I am extremely offended by all of it! Tyra Banks knows she knows better! TypeF is a joke as far as I’m concerned, but some unsuspecting woman would see that and think it’s the way to go with their natural hair/makeup/styling, just because of Tyra’s brand being attached. That is so irresponsible.

    Reply

  2. Remy Hair
    May 06, 2013 @ 16:42:43

    So I have 100% Remy hair. I don’t want to go all the way back to my hair salon and pay money just to get it washed. I want to do that on my own. Can anyone tell me which kind of shampoo and conditioner can be used on this hair so it can be all nice and fluffy again? lol thank you 🙂 <3.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

